Bar Car: Ommegang Rare Vos

20141218_180544Beer:  Brewery Ommegang Rare Vos

Where I bought it: The Taste NY store near the Biltmore Room inside Grand Central

Type: Amber Ale

How much: $5.99 for a 12 oz bottle

Notes: I have a love-hate relationship with the TasteNY store in GCT. Its beer selection is great but its prices are geared toward tourists apparently who may not know any better. Why would I pay $6.00 for a quality New York State beer when I can pay $3.75 at GCT’s beer carts for something similar.  But, I was lacking cash and not interested in a Bud Light Lime tall boy from Rite Aid, so I decided to give the store another shot. In its singles beer cooler, I found an Ommegang Rare Vos I decided to bite the bullet and pay up to taste New York (Ommegang is brewed in Cooperstown). Thankfully, Rare Vos tastes pretty darn good.

The back of the bottle explains that Rare Vos means “sly fox” in Flemish.  Flemish or ‘Belgian Dutch‘ is a language spoken in “Flanders, the northern part of Belgium.”  This is not to be confused with with Netherlands Dutch or Dutch, uh, Dutch.

So, I say Rare Vos, ik hou van je!  TasteNY store, het is mij te duur.

Leave a Reply

